Oct 25, 2017
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

CAFA announces 2018 event and new award category

Oct 25, 2017

The Canadian Arts and Fashion Awards (CAFA) announced on Monday that the fifth edition of its red-carpet award show gala will take place on Friday, April 20 and will feature a new award category.

CAFA President Vicky Milner at the 2017 Canadian Arts and Fashion Awards - Facebook: The Canadian Arts and Fashion Awards

The annual award gala dedicated to recognizing Canadian-based designers and various members of Canada’s fashion industry, will feature seventeen award categories, including a new award category for 2018: The Outerwear Designer of the Year Award. The award will recognize a Canadian outerwear designer who has made a lasting impact on the outerwear industry in Canada and abroad.
Self-nominating award categories will also make a return including The Swarovski Emerging Talent Award in Fashion Design and Accessory Design, The Fresh Face of the Year Award, The Model of the Year Award, The Simons Fashion Design Student Award, The Fashion Impact Award, and The Joe Fresh Fashion Innovation Award.

“As we embark on our fifth year of CAFA, we could not be prouder of what we have accomplished as a community in those years, or more excited for what lies ahead. We remain steadfast in our commitment to generate a stronger appreciation and market for Canadian fashion talent both in Canada and around the world,” said CAFA President Vicky Milner, in a news statement.
Among the winners last year, the sister duo behind Beaufille, Chloe and Parris Gordon, took home the award for Womenswear Designer of the Year, while designer Zakariah Milana from Toronto streetwear label The Feral was presented the Menswear Designer of the Year Award, beating Christopher Bates and Bustle.
Montreal-born, London-based Erdem Moralioglu scored the International Canadian Designer of the Year Award and Toronto-based jewelry designer Jenny Bird was awarded the Accessory Designer of the Year Award.
Thee official 2018 nominees will be announced in January 2018. 

Copyright © 2022 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.